Czech – Čeština

One of the official languages of the European Union since 2004, Czech is spoken by about 12 million people in the Czech Republic.

It can be categorized into four dialects which correspond to different geographical areas within the country. One of the four areas is Bohemia where “Common Czech” is the most widely spoken. Czech Republic used to be Czechoslovakia until 1992 when it split into the separate countries of Czech Republic and Slovakia.

The Czech and Slovak languages still share many similarities, and the modern forms have only slight differences in pronunciation and sentence structure. The Czech language is considered to be one of the most difficult to learn in the world.